Tag: 苏州红馆

WI Women on top in ICC Championship

first_img FEARS QUICKLY DASHED GROS ISLET, St Lucia: West Indies Women trounced Pakistan Women by six wickets in the final one-day international cricket match on Saturday night to clinch the four-match series 3-1 and join Australia at the top of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s Championship. Chasing a modest 183 for victory at the Beausejour Cricket Stadium, the hosts cantered home in the 43rd over with their inspirational captain, Stafanie Taylor, stroking an attractive unbeaten 87 from 107 deliveries, to pick up the Player-of-the-Match award. The win was the Windies Women’s third on the trot after losing the opening game two Fridays ago and more importantly, saw them sweep the contests designated as ICC Championship games and grab the six vital points required to move to the top of the points table alongside the Aussies on 16 points. A qualifying tournament for the 2017 Women’s World Cup, the top four sides from the Championship will gain automatic qualification for the event scheduled for England. “We executed really well throughout the series. We recognised the importance of trying to dominate this game and again, we did that really well,” head coach Vasbert Drakes said. “Our objective was to move up to the number one spot and it was a great series to do that and certainly that was one of the biggest motivating factors.” Sent in, Pakistan Women were restricted to 182 for five off their 50 overs, thanks to superb bowling from pacer Shamilia Connell, who snared three for 32 from her 10 overs. Off-spinner Anisa Mohammed picked up two for 30, while Hayley Matthews strangled the visitors with her off-breaks in a 10-over spell that went for just 20 runs. Asmavia Iqbal top scored with 44 not out off 43 balls batting at number seven, while Bismah Maroof chipped in with 41, Javeria Khan, 25 and captain Sana Mir an unbeaten 24. In reply, West Indies lost Matthews without scoring with six runs on the board in the fourth over and were further set back when they also lost the other opener Kycia Knight for 19 at 32 for two in the ninth. However, any fears of a West Indies Women collapse were quickly dashed as Taylor took control in two telling partnerships. First, the right-hander put on 54 for the third wicket with Deandra Dottin, who struck 25 from 43 balls with a four and a six. When she departed in the 23rd over to a catch at the wicket off leg-spinner Bismah, Taylor found an ally in former captain Merissa Aguilleira, who stroked an important 37 off 62 deliveries with two fours. Taylor played with assurance, gathering 10 boundaries to dominate the innings and record her second straight unbeaten half-century of the tournament. Overall, she finished with 261 runs at an average of 130, to also cop the Player-of-the-Series award. The two teams will now turn their attention to the three-match Twenty20 series, which bowls off in Grenada on Thursday. – CMClast_img read more

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Flyers submit bid to host 2017 Coy Cup

first_imgFORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The Fort St. John Flyers have officially submitted their letter of intent to BC Hockey to host the 2017 Coy Cup, which is awarded to the top Senior ‘AA’ hockey team in the province.Flyers President Paul van Nostrand says that on Monday he sent the application letter to BC Hockey that outlines the club’s application, which includes an outline of the facilities at the North Peace Arena, a showcase of the amenities and events that have been hosted in Fort St. John, as well as a history of events that the club itself has successfully hosted in the past. The Flyers previously hosted the Coy in 1994. Since resuming operations in 2005 after a brief hiatus at the end of the 90’s, the Flyers have hosted the Savage Cup, which is awarded to BC’s top ‘AAA’ Senior team, a total of three times; in 2008, 2011, and 2013. In addition to the 2008 Savage Cup, the club also hosted the McKenzie Cup that year, in which the top teams from BC and Alberta compete for a spot to represent Western Canada at the Allan Cup, the Stanley Cup of Canadian men’s Senior ‘AAA’ hockey, which the Flyers hosted and won in 2010.In the past five years, the Coy Cup has been hosted in: Kitimat in 2012 and 2013, Williams Lake in 2014, Fort Nelson in 2015, and most recently in Terrace. Van Nostrand says that though the Cup was held in the Northeast only two years ago, he feels that the team has an excellent chance of being awarded the tournament. He added that at this point, he has only heard of one other possible bid for the tournament from Whitehorse.- Advertisement -In preparing the application with club General Manager Lee Hartman, van Nostrand says that the club faces several hurdles, including securing sponsorship for the event, and booking the North Peace Arena for the duration of the tournament, which is planned to take place March 21st – 25th, 2017.last_img read more

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,